Facebook reportedly has plugged a flaw that had been causing users to receive spam emails supposedly from their Facebook friends; the giveaway obviously was the e-mail address. According to a CNET report, the spam attack, essentially took advantage of an earlier temporary Facebook misconfiguration. Elaborating on the spam attack, the report adds that the spammers had been using data, which they obtained earlier to send spam. What this only this means that messages would continue to come, unless nipped in the bud.  

Facebook irks users

Facebook has fixed the spam sent to users via emails from friends

The Facebook statement to the effect, as seen on CNET, now reveals that Facebook have enhanced their security to protect against attacks of this nature and other similar attacks. The statement has Facebook affirming that neither was there a mass compromise of Facebook accounts nor any leak of private data. Going ahead, the post adds that Facebook have built enforcement mechanisms, which help them quickly shut down Pages containing malware, accounts and applications that which try to trick users into clicking on malicious links or take advantage of browser security loopholes. 

In a recent report, Facebook affirmed that it will be coming down strongly on fraudulent Likes on Pages. The social networking giant asserted that when a page and a fan connect on its platform, Facebook wants to ensure that the connection involves a real person with genuine interest in knowing more about and hearing from that particular Page. “As such, we have recently increased our automated efforts to remove Likes on Pages that may have been gained by means that violate our Facebook Terms,” Facebook adds further in its post titled 'Improvements To Our Site Integrity Systems'.

In May last year, Facebook launched new security features to block spam, but merely after its inception, tons of new ones emerged, bypassing these security implementations. The spam includes messages such as “Facebook now has a dislike button! Click ‘Enable Dislike Button’ to turn on the new feature!” and “OMG!! Why are you tagged in this vid?” Clicking on these links redirects the user to a website where they have to complete a survey. By clicking these it automatically gets reposted on their friend’s pages.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,