Facebook has managed to kill the app that deleted your Facebook account if you won, TechCrunch reports

Social Roulette, the app, describes itself as – “Everyone thinks about deleting their account at some point, it's a completely normal reaction to the overwhelming nature of digital culture. Is it time to consider a new development in your life? Are you looking for the opportunity to start fresh? Or are you just seeking cheap thrills at the expense of your social network? Maybe it's time for you to play Social Roulette.”

Facebook kills Social Roulette app

Facebook kills Social Roulette app

If a user manages to get struck in one of the six attempts, the app can potentially completely delete all of his posts, friends, apps, likes, photos and games, before deactivating the account completely. That said, the app admits on its site that it is very difficult to permanently delete a Facebook account. 

The remaining five times that a user escapes, the app simply posts on the user's Facebook profile that he survived the game: “I played Social Roulette and survived“, while encouraging the user's friends to risk their digital identities.

To play Social Roulette, a user has to play risking his own account; he can play only once a day.  

Social Roulette co-founder told TechCrunch, “It took us 4 hours to create the project, and it took another 4 hours after the launch for Facebook to respond by blocking the API key and restricting our ability to create Facebook applications. The app was flagged by an automated system for ‘creating a negative user experience.’ After review, they decided they don’t like our logo either. We tried to follow the branding guidelines but we must have misunderstood them.” 

Tags: , , , , ,