Facebook is gearing up to host its second annual Hacker Cup. They announced an open registration for the competition that will determine the world's best hacker. Competitors will go through five rounds of hacking challenges, which include solving algorithms. The competition will begin with a 72 hour qualification round that will be online, only. This round will begin on the 20th of January at 4 pm Pacific Time (which means, the 21st of January at 5:30 am Indian Standard Time). If a competitor advances, they will move on to three more online rounds. The first of the three additional online rounds will last 24 hours and begin on the 28th of January at 10 am PT (which means 11:30 pm IST). The top 500 competitors will move on to round 2, which will take place on the 4th of February from 1-4 pm (5th February, 2:30-5:30 am IST). Finally, 100 competitors will move on to round 3, which will take place on the 11th of February from 1-4 pm (12th February, 2:30-5:30 am IST).

Last year's Hacker Cup

Last year's Hacker Cup

The top 25 competitors will then be welcomed by Facebook to Menlo Park, CA for the final round, which will take place on the 17th of March. If a competitor incurs visa fees, Facebook promises to reimburse the competitor to upto $100 (approx Rs.5,000). Facebook, will not, however, cover passport expenses. Finalists will receive prizes and cash, however, there will only be one winner to walk away with the Hacker Cup.

Tags: , , , , ,