Malware isn’t an alien term anymore. In almost every session of computer usage, one comes across several malicious websites. However, over the years, protection from these kinds of malicious websites has grown more as a force to reckon with.

Gets more secure?

Gets more secure?

Browsers like Google Chrome have been no exception. Through their authored concept of Safe Browsing API, Google has attempted to reduce system infections, the majority of which happen because of drive-by downloads. This service by Google is being used by its search service, Chrome and Safari.

Despite safe browsing being held as the best thing to have happened to internet security issues, we couldn’t agree more on how much vulnerable we still are to malware, mostly for the reason that malware catches us unaware. Keeping this in mind, Google has introduced a new feature into its browser. So, typically, when a user attempts to enter one such website and download content, a dialog box saying, ‘This file appears to be malicious. Are you sure you want to continue? Yes/No’, will appear. 

Safe Browsing API has with it a list of URL of websites that it terms ‘malicious’. So, if a user happens to chance by any other those, a warning message will pop up. This feature is currently in an experimental mode by Google.

Tags: , , , , ,