An application called 'Tweeter' has been making its rounds around Twitterverse. It's basically a rogue app which promises to tell you “how long you've been on Twitter”. It makes users click on a link which has been shortened (via bit.ly so you can't see what you're really clicking on). When you “allow” the app which is called “Time on Tweeter”, it automatically sends a tweet from your account that you've spent 11.6 hours on Twitter (so basically everyone who's allowed the app has spent 11.6 hours on Twitter). The app then sends you to a page with a revenue generating survey made by the scammers.

Don't allow access

Don't allow access

If you've allowed the application access to your account, security firm, Sophos recommends that you revoke the app's access and change your password. Also, for the next few days, don't trust any shortened link, as, obviously, you don't know what they're taking you to. Beyond just trusting the person who sent you the tweet, it's important to exercise caution on which apps you allow to access your Twitter account. 

Tags: , , , , ,